Florida Adjuster Licenses – Become a Florida Insurance Claims Adjuster

Residents of the state of Florida and non-residents of states that do not require an appraiser license are eligible for a Florida All Lines business or independent appraiser license if:

1. You are 18 years of age or older;

2. An online application is completed and the $55.00 application fee is paid;

3. You are a US citizen or a legal alien with work authorization;

4. Fingerprints are submitted at one of the locations authorized by the Florida Department of Financial Services (out-of-state applicants will receive a fingerprint card from the department to complete);

5. Successfully complete the accredited claims adjuster designation through the University of Central Florida, or one of the other authorized licensing designations, or pass the state licensing exam.

Florida also maintains a cross license agreement with the following states.

Alabama: Independent Adjusters Only

Alaska: Independent Adjusters Only

Arkansas: Independent Adjusters Only

Connecticut – Independent, Public and Business Appraisers

Georgia: Independent and public adjusters only. (Does not require a license for Company adjusters)

Idaho: Independent Adjusters Only

Illinois – Public Adjusters Only

Kentucky – Independent, Public and Business Appraisers

Maine – Public and Independent Appraisers

Michigan – Public and Independent Appraisers

Mississippi: Independent Adjusters Only

New Mexico – Independent and Company Adjusters

North Carolina – Independent, Public and Business Appraisers

Oklahoma – Independent, Public and Business Appraisers

Oregon – Public and Independent Appraisers

Pennsylvania – Public Adjusters

South Carolina: Independent and Company Adjusters Only

Texas – Independent and Company Adjusters

West Virginia – Independent, Public and Business Appraisers

Washington – Public and Independent Appraisers

Wyoming – Independent, Public and Business Appraisers

Utah – Public and Independent Appraisers

States that do not require an appraiser’s license include Colorado, District of Columbia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

LICENSE DESIGNATION

Florida first approved the Accredited Claims Adjuster designation in 2003. This designation provided the first and original exemption from the state licensing exam. The course became available as a distance learning course through the University of Florida Insurance in association with the University of Central Florida in 2004. One in four adjuster licenses in Florida have been approved using the ACA Designation.

Although other providers now offer claims adjuster designations, more than 250 insurance companies and adjusters use the ACA designation to license resident and non-resident adjusters. The ACA website may be located at http://www.ce.ucf.edu/insurance

The ACA Designation consists of a series of open-book multiple-choice tests and a written assignment. Students will learn to read and research policy questions, identify claim issues, and upon completion of the course, will receive a certificate of completion from the University of Central Florida that will exempt them from the state licensing exam.

CONTINUING EDUCATION

Each FL adjuster is required to complete 24 hours of CE every two years to retain the license. The 24 hours must include 2-hour state-approved courses: Ethics; 10 hours-Law; 12 hours-Optional.

All required courses are located on the UCF website and all work can be completed online at:

http://www.ce.ucf.edu/ASP/insurance

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *